Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!

Luciano Pavarotti / Joan Sutherland - Live at the Sydney Opera House

Re-live the magical evening when Joan Sutherland and Luciano Pavarotti sang together under the sails of the Sydney Opera House. Recorded in 1983, this gala concert is conducted by Richard Bonynge, and features two of the greatest voices of all time singing arias and duets from their signature opera roles.

Joan Sutherland, ‘La Stupenda’, is sublime in some of her best-loved arias, including many of the jewels of the bel canto repertoire that was her speciality – including Verdi, Bellini and Cilea. Pavarotti performs some of the great tenor arias, including ‘Vesti la giubba’ from Pagliacci, ‘Una furtiva lagrima’ from Donizetti’s L’Elisir d’Amore, and ‘Recondita armonia’ from Puccini’s Tosca.

And the pair come together for duet performances shaped and perfected by their many years appearing alongside each other on stage and recordings: ‘Brindisi’ and ‘Parigi, o cara’ from La Traviata, ‘Prendi: l’anel ti dono’ from Bellini’s La Sonnambula, and ‘Sulla tomba che rinserra’ from Donizetti’s Lucia di Lammermoor.

Re-released to coincide with the renewed global focus on Pavarotti due to the major documentary film directed by Ron Howard, this DVD restores to the catalogue a landmark event, and a performance never to be forgotten.


1 BELLINI Sinfonia from I Capuleti e i Montecchi

2 VERDI Brindisi from La Traviata

3 PUCCINI Recondita armonia from Tosca

4 VERDI Addio, del passato from La Traviata

5 VERDI La mia letizia infondere from I Lombardi alla Prima Crociata

6 BELLINI Qui la voce sua soave from I Puritani

7 BELLINI Prendi: l’anel ti dono from La Sonnambula

8 CILEA Io son l’umile ancella from Adriana Lecouvreur

9 MASSENET Pourquoi me réveiller from Werther

10 MASSENET Méditation from Thaïs

11 THOMAS A vos jeux, mes amis from Hamlet

12 LEONCAVALLO Vesti la giubba from Pagliacci

13 DONIZETTI Sulla tomba che rinserra from Lucia di Lammermoor

14 DONIZETTI Una furtiva lagrima from L’Elisir d’Amore

15 RICCI Io non sono più l’Annetta from Crispino e la Comare

16 VERDI Parigi, o cara from La Traviata

Joan Sutherland soprano

Luciano Pavarotti tenor

The Elizabethan Sydney Orchestra

Richard Bonynge conductor

Recorded live in the Concert Hall of the Sydney Opera House, January 1983

Music can change lives. For almost 20 years, the Hush Foundation has been working with renowned Australian artists to create music of joy and calm – originally to support children in hospital, and now enjoyed everywhere from concert halls to living rooms. In this latest offering from the Hush series, pianist Tony Gould and guitarist Peter Petrucci present music that can bring optimism even in the toughest times.The Hush Foundation, under the inspirational leadership of physician Professor Catherine Crock AM, transforms the healthcare experience for patients, families and staff through music and the performing arts. It has produced 17 albums, bringing some of Australia’s finest performers and composers together in collaborative partnerships that engage with the lived experience of people in the health system and other stressful environments. Hush albums are played not only in hospitals, but also in aged care, palliative care and childcare facilities to reduce stress and anxiety. Community and international orchestras also play music composed for Hush. In 2014, Hush’s contribution to Australian music was acknowledged with the APRA/AMCOS Award for Excellence.Gathering of Kindness recognises the power of the small acts of kindness and respect that build trust and create a sense of safety and security in difficult and challenging situations. ‘When we ask patients, their families and those working in healthcare “What matters to you?”’ says Professor Crock, ‘the single word at the top of the list is kindness.’Tony Gould and Peter Petrucci wrote the music on this album with the Hush ‘family’ firmly in mind. ‘We hope they serve at least one of music’s purposes in life, and that is to help calm our fellow humans in times when things aren’t going so well. Music can do this superbly. It can also give us joy, can foster kindness and a sense that, ultimately, everything will be all right.’ This latest album has been named after the healthcare events Hush has hosted since 2016. The Gathering of Kindness bring people working in health and aged care together to talk about ways kindness can flourish in their organisations and services. These events are being hosted throughout November at metro, regional and rural healthcare organisations across Victoria, and include live performances of Hush plays and music, healthcare book launches and panels, narrative and a range of self-care workshops, as well as updates on new research being undertaken. Hush is also hosting a ticketed event at KPMG in Melbourne on Thursday 14 November.›Pianist / composer / critic / author / academic / educator Tony Gould has been involved in music in Australia for over half a century. A prolific performer, composer and recording artist across several musical genres of art music, Tony has composed and performed alongside other renowned musicians Australia-wide and internationally. His numerous accolades include membership of the Order of Australia (AM) in recognition of his contribution to music.Peter Petrucci is one of Australia’s leading jazz guitarists, recognised for his virtuosity and lyricism in improvisations and artful compositions. He has released eight albums – the latest, They Know That We Know, in August 2019. Peter has performed locally and internationally supporting distinguished musicians and has appeared at numerous international jazz festivals, in the US, Canada, Germany, Italy, the Melbourne International Jazz Festival and the Wangaratta, Stonnington and Queensland Jazz Festivals. TRACKLISTING 1 All Things Good2 Anthem3 Calm4 Autumn Lullaby5 Quiet6 Spring Town7 It’s Up to You8 A Little Folk Song9 Essence10 Truth and Beauty11 The Softness of Air12 The Smile Peter Petrucci guitar – Tony Gould piano Tks 1-3, 5, 8, 10-12 composed by Tony Gould.Tks 4, 6, 7 and 9 composed by Peter Petrucci.