Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!

Seraphim Trio

Trio Through Time

Travel across four centuries with ABC Classic, as we explore the history of one of the most intimate forms of music-making – the piano trio – in Trio Through Time.

The piano trio was often used to reflect the most personal thoughts and musical experimentation of these composers, and this series explores the development of the form, as well as insights into the composers and the cultures in which they lived.

Over 12 weeks in 2019, ABC Classic premiered new studio recordings featuring the
Seraphim Trio (pianist Anna Goldsworthy, violinist Helen Ayres and cellist Timothy Nankervis).

From the Classical elegance of Mozart and Haydn to dramatic Beethoven, ravishing Schubert and glorious Brahms; the flowing grace of Felix Mendelssohn and his sister Fanny Mendelssohn, unjustly neglected by history because of her gender; the folk influences of Dvořák; the new musical vision of Ravel; Shostakovich's lament for his time and the distinctively Australian voice of Peter Sculthorpe – the many and wonderful ways in which piano, violin and cello come together into a single musical voice.

Recorded especially for this project in the Eugene Goossens Hall of the ABC’s Ultimo Centre, by ABC Classic’s team of producers and engineers, this landmark series is now available in a 5CD set.




Piano Trio in G major, KV496

1 I. Allegro

2 II. Andante

3 III. Allegretto


Piano Trio in G major, Op. 1 No. 2

4 I. Adagio – Allegro vivace

5 II. Largo con espressione

6 III. Scherzo (Allegro)

7 IV. Finale (Presto)

JOSEPH HAYDN 1732–1809

Piano Trio No. 39 in G minor, Hob.XV:25 ‘Gypsy Rondo’

8 I. Andante

9 II. Poco adagio

10 III. Finale (Rondo all’Ongarese)



Piano Trio in D major, Op. 70 No. 1

1 I. Allegro vivace e con brio

2 II. Largo assai ed espressivo

3 III. Presto


Piano Trio No. 1 in B-flat major, D898

4 I. Allegro moderato

5 II. Andante un poco mosso

6 III. Scherzo (Allegro)

7 IV. Rondo (Allegro vivace)



Piano Trio No. 1 in D major, Op. 49

1 I. Molto allegro ed agitato

2 II. Andante con moto tranquillo

3 III. Scherzo (Leggiero e vivace)

4 IV Finale (Allegro assai appassionato)


Piano Trio in D minor, Op. 11

5 I. Allegro molto vivace

6 II. Andante espressivo

7 III. Lied (Allegretto)

8 IV. Finale (Allegretto moderato)



Piano Trio No. 1 in B major, Op. 8(Revised Version, 1889)

1 I. Allegro con brio

2 II. Scherzo (Allegro molto)

3 III. Adagio

4 IV. Allegro


Piano Trio No. 4 in E minor, Op. 90 'Dumky'

5 I. Lento maestoso – Allegro quasi doppio movimento

6 II. Poco adagio – Vivace non troppo

7 III. Andante – Vivace non troppo – Allegretto

8 IV. Andante moderato – Allegretto scherzando – Quasi tempo di marcia

9 V. Allegro

10 VI. Lento maestoso



Piano Trio in A minor

1 I. Modéré

2 II. Pantoum (Assez vif)

3 III. Passacaille (Très large)

4 IV. Final (Animé)


Piano Trio No. 2 in E minor, Op. 67

5 I. Andante

6 II. Allegro con brio

7 III. Largo

8 IV. Allegretto


9 From Irkanda III

Seraphim Trio

Anna Goldsworthy piano

Helen Ayres violin

Tim Nankervis cello

The Huntington Estate Music Festival is one of the brightest stars in Australia’s musical firmament. For three decades, it has been bringing together top-flight musicians from around the country and around the world to present a breathtaking array of chamber music masterpieces, both iconic favourites and delicious new discoveries. Presented by the Huntington Estate Winery in association with Musica Viva Australia, and held in the winery’s Barrel Room, one of the most remarkable and surprising music venues in the world, the Festival is a delight to audiences and musicians alike.After 30 stellar years of exceptional music-making, however, the 2019 Festival will be the last, with Huntington Estate owners Tim and Nicky Stevens reluctantly deciding that their grapes – and their young family – must come first. To mark this significant occasion, ABC Classic is proud to delve into its broadcast archives to present this selection of some of the Festival’s most memorable performances across a typically diverse and intriguing range of repertoire: from Schubert and Dvořák to Bach’s astonishing eldest son Wilhelm Friedemann and Australian composers Ross Edwards and Ian Munro.It was Richard Tognetti and the Australian Chamber Orchestra who began the Festival and established it as a serious contender on the world stage – and the hottest concert tickets in the country! This album includes superb three recordings from those early years: music of Mendelssohn, Brahms and Percy Grainger.In 2006, the ACO passed the baton to Musica Viva and Artistic Director Carl Vine, opening up the Festival’s artist roster to an extraordinary range of musicians, both local and international. From among the literally hundreds of thrilling performances, this album features New York-based Australian pianist Andrea Lam, Russian-Armenian clarinettist Narek Arutyunian, the rich bass-baritone of Teddy Tahu Rhodes and Vienna’s acclaimed Eggner Trio, along with regular Festival guests the Goldner String Quartet and the rising stars of the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) Chamber Orchestra.…/2The CD of this compilation is available exclusively at the Festival itself, but for all those who can’t make the trip to Mudgee, ABC Classic is releasing the full album as a digital album, for download and streaming, so that audiences all around the world can share in the celebration. TRACKLISTING  1     MENDELSSOHN Symphony No. 3 ‘Scottish’: II. Vivace non troppo2     BRAHMS arr. ANGERER Chorale Prelude ‘O Gott, du frommer Gott’3     GRAINGER Blithe Bells       Australian Chamber Orchestra, Richard Tognetti director (2002 / 2004)        SCHUBERT4     An die Musik (To Music)5     Erlkönig (The Erl-King)6     Die Forelle (The Trout)7     Die Taubenpost (Pigeon Post) from Schwanengesang       Teddy Tahu Rhodes bass-baritone, Kristian Chong piano (2007)        WF BACH Sinfonia in F major ‘Dissonant’8     I. Vivace9     II. Andante10   III. Vivace11   IV. Menuetto I & II       ANAM Chamber Orchestra, Paul Wright violin / conductor (2010)      12   ROSS EDWARDS String Quartet No. 2 ‘Shekina Fantasy’:       I. Allegro moderato       Goldner String Quartet (2010)        MENDELSSOHN13   Song without Words Op. 67 No. 2 – Allegro leggiero14   Song without Words Op. 85 No. 4 – Andante sostenuto       Andrea Lam piano (2012) 15   WEBER Clarinet Quintet in B-flat major: II. Fantasia       Narek Arutyunian clarinet, Australian String Quartet (2012)        MUNRO Piano Trio No. 2 ‘Book of Lullabies’ – Excerpts16   II. Lullaby in Edo17   III. Kun Mun Kultani Tulisi18   IV. Skye Boat Song       Dimity Hall violin, Julian Smiles cello, Ian Munro piano (2013) 19   DVOŘÁK Piano Trio No. 1: II. Adagio molto e mesto       Eggner Trio (2015)