Newsletter Signup

Become a ABC Music VIP Newsletter subscriber for all the latest ABC Music artist and label news!

A Welsh Choral Spectacular

There is nothing to match the full-voiced splendour of a Welsh choir! This 3CD album will transport you to the Royal Albert Hall for two thrilling evenings at the London Welsh Festival of Male Choirs. Welsh choirs from around the world join with the renowned London Welsh Male Voice Choir in traditional classics and popular favourites.

The London Welsh Male Voice Choir was formed in 1902 and quickly gained a reputation for excellence in performance and success in competitions in England, Wales and Paris. Following the two World Wars, it was re-established in 1961 and now has over one hundred members.

Track Listing:


  • Llanfair
  • O Isis und Osiris from The Magic Flute
  • Divine Brahma from The Pearl Fishers
  • Granada
  • Yfory
  • Calm is the Sea
  • African Trilogy: Siyahamba (Zulu) – Shosholoza (Shona) – Sikelele Africa (South African national anthem)
  • Heaven is My Home
  • By Babylon’s Wave
  • An American Trilogy: Dixie – Battle Hymn of the Republic – All My Trials
  • My Lord, What a Mornin’
  • Mi glywaf dyner lais (Sarah)
  • Je veux vivre from Romeo and Juliet
  • I Dreamed a Dream from Les Misérables
  • Diolch i’r Iôr
  • A Cycle of Welsh Hymn Tunes
  • Finlandia ‘Rho i mi’r hedd’
  • Sanctus ‘Glân geriwbiaid a seraffiaid’
  • Hen Wlad fy Nhadau (Land of My Fathers) – Welsh National Anthem


  • Roman War Song from Rienzi
  • Humming Chorus from Madama Butterfly
  • Sailors’ Chorus from The Flying Dutchman
  • On My Lips Every Kiss is Like Wine from Giuditta (Judith)
  • Voi, che sapete from The Marriage of Figaro
  • Chiquitita la Novia
  • The Wonder of You
  • Beautiful Dreamer
  • Cenarth
  • Aros Mae’r Mynyddau Mawr
  • Si può? Si può? from Pagliacci
  • Love, Could I Only Tell Thee
  • Yma o Hyd
  • Pam Fod Eira’n Wyn?
  • Working Man
  • Bugeilio’r Gwenith Gwyn
  • When the Saints Go Marching In


  • Organ Symphony (Symphony No. 3): Finale
  • Pantyfedwen
  • Casatschok
  • Cymru Fach
  • Ô vin, dissipe la tristesse from Hamlet
  • Because
  • Y Dymestl
  • Deus Salutis (Llef)
  • I’m Gonna Walk
  • Some Day My Heart Will Awake from King’s Rhapsody
  • My Little Welsh Home
  • Hei-Ho!
  • Là ci darem la mano from Don Giovanni
  • I’se Weary of Waitin’
  • Mansions of the Lord
  • Rachie
  • Morte Criste
  • Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau (Land of My Fathers) – Welsh National Anthem
The Huntington Estate Music Festival is one of the brightest stars in Australia’s musical firmament. For three decades, it has been bringing together top-flight musicians from around the country and around the world to present a breathtaking array of chamber music masterpieces, both iconic favourites and delicious new discoveries. Presented by the Huntington Estate Winery in association with Musica Viva Australia, and held in the winery’s Barrel Room, one of the most remarkable and surprising music venues in the world, the Festival is a delight to audiences and musicians alike.After 30 stellar years of exceptional music-making, however, the 2019 Festival will be the last, with Huntington Estate owners Tim and Nicky Stevens reluctantly deciding that their grapes – and their young family – must come first. To mark this significant occasion, ABC Classic is proud to delve into its broadcast archives to present this selection of some of the Festival’s most memorable performances across a typically diverse and intriguing range of repertoire: from Schubert and Dvořák to Bach’s astonishing eldest son Wilhelm Friedemann and Australian composers Ross Edwards and Ian Munro.It was Richard Tognetti and the Australian Chamber Orchestra who began the Festival and established it as a serious contender on the world stage – and the hottest concert tickets in the country! This album includes superb three recordings from those early years: music of Mendelssohn, Brahms and Percy Grainger.In 2006, the ACO passed the baton to Musica Viva and Artistic Director Carl Vine, opening up the Festival’s artist roster to an extraordinary range of musicians, both local and international. From among the literally hundreds of thrilling performances, this album features New York-based Australian pianist Andrea Lam, Russian-Armenian clarinettist Narek Arutyunian, the rich bass-baritone of Teddy Tahu Rhodes and Vienna’s acclaimed Eggner Trio, along with regular Festival guests the Goldner String Quartet and the rising stars of the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) Chamber Orchestra.…/2The CD of this compilation is available exclusively at the Festival itself, but for all those who can’t make the trip to Mudgee, ABC Classic is releasing the full album as a digital album, for download and streaming, so that audiences all around the world can share in the celebration. TRACKLISTING  1     MENDELSSOHN Symphony No. 3 ‘Scottish’: II. Vivace non troppo2     BRAHMS arr. ANGERER Chorale Prelude ‘O Gott, du frommer Gott’3     GRAINGER Blithe Bells       Australian Chamber Orchestra, Richard Tognetti director (2002 / 2004)        SCHUBERT4     An die Musik (To Music)5     Erlkönig (The Erl-King)6     Die Forelle (The Trout)7     Die Taubenpost (Pigeon Post) from Schwanengesang       Teddy Tahu Rhodes bass-baritone, Kristian Chong piano (2007)        WF BACH Sinfonia in F major ‘Dissonant’8     I. Vivace9     II. Andante10   III. Vivace11   IV. Menuetto I & II       ANAM Chamber Orchestra, Paul Wright violin / conductor (2010)      12   ROSS EDWARDS String Quartet No. 2 ‘Shekina Fantasy’:       I. Allegro moderato       Goldner String Quartet (2010)        MENDELSSOHN13   Song without Words Op. 67 No. 2 – Allegro leggiero14   Song without Words Op. 85 No. 4 – Andante sostenuto       Andrea Lam piano (2012) 15   WEBER Clarinet Quintet in B-flat major: II. Fantasia       Narek Arutyunian clarinet, Australian String Quartet (2012)        MUNRO Piano Trio No. 2 ‘Book of Lullabies’ – Excerpts16   II. Lullaby in Edo17   III. Kun Mun Kultani Tulisi18   IV. Skye Boat Song       Dimity Hall violin, Julian Smiles cello, Ian Munro piano (2013) 19   DVOŘÁK Piano Trio No. 1: II. Adagio molto e mesto       Eggner Trio (2015)